30 Day Film Challenge: Day 3; A Film You Watch to Feel Good

Posted on 10/04/2011

0


This is a film I watch to feel good. At first glance, it may seem an odd choice considering the subject matter, but invest some time in it and you’ll see what I mean.

20110410-202537.jpg

The Green Mile.
In my opinion, this is one of the beat adaptions of a Stephen King novel. Frank Darabont, although not my favourite director, does seem to have a connection to Kings writing that translates very well to the screen.

For me, this film has a sense of wonder as well as a touch of the mystical about it. There is not one miscast actor in this film. Michael Clarke Duncan was born for this role. I cannot imagine another actor in it. Sam Rockwell is, as always fantastic.

So why does this film make me feel good ? That’s hard to say without a spare hour or two, but to be brief, it’s the sense that no matter how bad things are, there is always hope, there is always something better. Your circumstances do not have to define you as a person. There is good in all of us. So, when I feel depressed or cynical, I watch this.

If you haven’t seen this film, please do. You won’t be disappointed.

Posted in: Challenges