Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 1

Posted on 05/08/2011

1


I’ve just watched Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 1, in preparation for Part 2. I’ll be honest, I wasn’t expecting to like it and I was right. I didn’t like it, I loved it. I came late to reading the books. I read the first one when The Order Of The Phoenix was on at the cinema, and I’ve only ever seen the films on DVD. I’m a dad after all, we’re always broke. Who can afford trips to the movies. Anyway, I digress.

When I heard that they were splitting the final book into two films, I was conflicted. On the one hand, I was pleased. I mean, it’s an epic finale. How could they possibly do it justice in one film ? On the other hand, I was fearful that they would put one or two things into part 1 & keep everything for part 2. My fears were unfounded. For the most part, it faithfully adhered to the book and fulfilled admirably it’s task. Which was, I believe, to build suspense and the tension needed to maintain the anticipation for part 2.

I feel it necessary at this point, to say there may follow some spoilers. I’m almost positive that pretty much anyone who has a passing interest in the books and films has seen this movie by now, but if you haven’t, don’t read on.

I do have a few quibbles with the film however. The death of Hedwig was handled poorly. This character had been with Harry for all those years and his death warranted only a few brief seconds ? I thought that was poor judgement on the part of the film makers.
My second problem was with the exit of the Dursleys.
I am very disappointed that it was glossed over in the manner that it was. I wanted to see the final conversation between Dudley and Harry. It showed us that even Dudley had grown and developed as a character, in that he could acknowledge what Harry had done for him. It would have given us a sense of closure.
The death of Dobby was handled as well as could be expected, although I would have liked a bit more time spent on it.

All in all, I loved the film and can’t wait to see part 2.

Posted in: Film, Reviews