30 Day TV Show Challenge: Day 10; A Show You Thought You Wouldn’t Like But Ended Up Loving

Posted on 06/08/2011

0


At the risk of repeating oneself, until recently, I’ve not watched a lot of television. I show that I didn’t think I would like but now love is….

20110806-151617.jpg

Masterchef ( Australia ).

It’s one of the few reality shows that I’ve ever enjoyed watching. Yes, I said reality, because really, it’s not a cooking show. It’s reality tv with some cooking thrown in.

There are some good personalities on the show, both on the judges side and the contestants. I like the fact that contestants delude themselves that they’re world class cooks, when, in my opinion, most of them have only learnt terminology and techniques from watching shows like this. It doesn’t detract from the fact that some of them seem quite earnest about learning their craft. I’m always hoping the ones that are attempting to use the experience as a springboard to fame fall flatter than a dodgy soufflé.

A fun show that educates ( slightly ) and entertains a lot.

Posted in: Challenges, TV