The Chronicles Of Narnia Audiobooks

Posted on 30/01/2012

0


This is a post that was originally published on my Tumbler blog well over a year ago. My opinions as expressed in it have pretty much stayed the same, with the qualification that ANY Narnia audiobook is better than NO Narnia audiobook.

Among my favourite books, those that have meant a lot to me since my childhood, are the Chronicles of Narnia, by C. S. Lewis. I joined Audible so that I could buy the audiobook versions. I was very surprised, pleasantly so, that British actors ( mainly ) were reading these favourites. I was absolutely ecstatic to find that Patrick Stewart was reading The Last Battle, the seventh and final in the series, and one of my favourite three. Now, unfortunately, this was the most disappointing book I have listened to. Not just in this series, but of any audiobook. It feels as though he us JUST reading, and not feeling the stories as the others did. Kenneth Branagh did a brilliant job with the Magician’s Nephew, Michael York did well with The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. Alex Jennings was pretty good with the Horse and His boy. Lynn Redgrave was very good with Prince Caspian, Derek Jacobi was okay with The Voyage of The Dawn Treader. Jeremy Northam was fantastic with the Silver Chair. I was so looking forward to
hearing one of my favourite actors in Patrick Stewart ( being an insanely nerdy Trek fan ), that it felt like a bit of my childhood had been made just that little bit destroyed by an apparent lack of interest in the material. Now I could be wrong and I hope I am, but I wish Patrick Stewart just hadn’t bothered.

Posted in: Childhood, Classics